Oatmeal Cranberry Cookies (Gluten-Free & Vegan)

20150704_135730

IMG_20150704_135938It’s been a long time since I have updated. Part of it is due to my own laziness and part is due to the sheer amount of things piling up. In May, I went traveling in the Baltic and attended a family member’s graduation. The rest of May and June were devoted to studying for my actuarial exam that I was taking end of June. After my jubilant pass of my final preliminary exam (YAY), I was then dropped a bombshell that precipitated my move from my home for my entire life (Texas) to my parent’s new home in Virginia. In fact, I’m writing this blog post to procrastinate actually packing all of my belongings.

2015-07-18_21.11.58As most people who have moved cross-country can tell you, the last few weeks are super hectic. Not only am I needing to sort out what to keep and what to give away or throw out, I also need to eat up everything in my fridge, freezer, and pantry. It’s because of this, I decided to focus on making some gluten-free and vegan sweets since I didn’t want to go out and buy eggs, flour, or milk. Thankfully, I had some lovely vegan butter and gluten-free oats. I figured I could throw in my extra cranberries and nuts as well. Basically, these cookies were my “leftover” cookies. They helped me get of unwanted items but also providing for a perfect treat!

Since I still have PLENTY of sugar left in my pantry, you can bet that I’ll be making another post quite soon for another sweet treat to help me use up those pantry essentials!

2015-07-18_21.06.24In the mean time, enjoy these cookies! For those who aren’t interested in making it gluten-free or vegan, regular butter is always a welcome substitute. Olive oil or another neutral oil can also be subbed for the butter; however, note that unless the batter has been sufficiently chilled, the cookies will spread out quite a bit instead of retaining a bit of a chewy factor. The ground oats, which can be gluten-free or regular, can also be subbed with all-purpose or whole wheat flour for those not interested in pulling out their food processor or blender. Eggs can always be subbed for the flax eggs. (But I think flax eggs are a great substitute for that fiber kick! Plus their consistency really is very similar to regular eggs)

Another curveball I threw in there is the use of ground coffee beans. I love that fresh roast smell and I think they are the perfect addition to any sweet treat, especially cookies, brownies, and quick breads! It brings in a new layer of depth within the sweet cookies. There’s a perfect mix of sweet, salty, and bitter fused into the perfect cookie. Try out my addition and let me know how you like it!20150704_135740

As always, make sure you read the recipe completely before attempting and take all things out of the fridge and freezer and allow them to come to room temp before starting.

Note*** This recipe is soley mine. When reposting, please cite me and my website.

Copyright july 2015 ©

Oatmeal Cranberry Cookies

Gluten-Free and Vegan healthy afternoon treat
>>> Yields 30 cookies

Time:
-Prep: 45 min
-Bake: 15 min

Ingredients:

– 4.5 c Gluten-Free Oats (divided 1.5 c and 3 c)
– 2 tbsp cornstarch
– 1.5 tsp spice mix *
– 1 tsp baking powder
– 0.5 tsp salt
– 1 c unsalted vegan butter (room temp)
– 0.5 c granulated sugar
– 0.5 c packed light brown sugar
– 2 flax eggs **
– 2 tsp vanilla extract
– 0.5 tsp ground coffee beans ***
– 1 c dried cranberries/raisins
– 1 c chopped nuts (lightly toasted)

* spice mix = cinnamon, ground ginger, ground nutmeg, allspice
** 1 egg = 1 tbsp ground flaxseed + 3 tbsp water
*** instant coffee powder can be used instead

Instructions:

1) Mix flaxseed and water together and set aside.
2) In a blender, process 1.5 c oats into fine meal.
3) Combine blended oats with cornstarch, spices, baking powder, and salt.
4) Cream butter and sugar together. Beat in eggs and vanilla extract, and ground coffee beans.
5) Gradually add oat mixture. Fold in raisins, nuts, and remaining 3 c of oats. Mix until barely forms a thick, chunky batter.
6) For best results, refrigerate overnight. Those in a time pinch can freeze for 1-2 hrs. (Batter should be hard to the touch but pliable so that batter can be rolled into balls)
7) Preheat the oven to 350 F.
8) Roll individual balls of about 2 inches in diameter. Place them so they are ~2 inches apart.
9) Bake for 15-18 min until golden brown at the edges. Remove from oven and let them sit for 5 minutes. (They should be quite soft when removed from oven)
10) Remove from pan and let cool on a wire rack.

2015-07-18_21.08.19

2 thoughts on “Oatmeal Cranberry Cookies (Gluten-Free & Vegan)

Leave a Reply

