Pecan Pie

 

v

What are your plans this year for Thanksgiving? This year, I’ll be eating dinner at a friend’s house, but was tasked with bringing dessert. I settled upon our family’s perennial favorite–pecan pie. The recipe started out from a cut-out clipping from a newspaper almost a decade ago from my mother. She’s been making this for years but has made slight adaptations on the sweetness. My mom is generally a traditionalist, so she’s always been pretty adamant about sticking to the recipe she’s got.

p

Last year was the first year I took up the gauntlet and started making it for the family. As always and to the horror of my mother, I make a variety of changes to recipes to fit changing palates and requests. tI cut down the sugar even more than the original, subbed in a bit of brown sugar, and threw in some oatmeal for a healthy but chewy texture in the filling along with the chopped nuts. Since we bought the two-pack dark corn syrup from Costco this year, I used that instead of light syrup and used more white sugar than brown since the filling would be ample dark. Another addition I made was the bit of apple cider vinegar. Trust me, you won’t taste any sour flavors here. It mellows out that sweetness ever so slightly and brings a rich flavor out from the pecans. I also throw in that important bit of salt that will truly bring out the sweet flavor without needing to add any additional salt.

sMy mom usually makes the pie with chopped pecans throughout the pie, but I am a huge biggie on design, so I top the surface with whole pecans that are hand-picked from the bag. I also toast the pecans beforehand for a lovely nut aroma that you won’t get without pre-toasting. For this pre-Thanksgiving trial run, I opted to add in some whole walnuts on top for a pretty finish. Don’t you love how easy it is to change around traditional recipes to make it your own new signature? (My mother is shooting daggers from her eyes while scarfing down the pie that she begrudgingly called, “not bad, i guess”) For my recipe, I use my glass pie bakeware which is 9.5 inches and it rises about 1/4 inch away from the top. It will probably be perfect for a 9 inch pan for those of you using that size.

rThe great thing about this pie is that pre-baking the crust is totally unnecessary. The filling won’t result in a soggy crust and retains that crisp, flaky texture. However, if you want an ultra-crispy crust, you can par-bake it using my recipe here. Paired with my super simple pie crust recipe, this is a pie you’ll definitely want to make Thanksgiving and year-round!

Now get in that kitchen and start up that oven because it’s time to get baking!

o

Note*** This version of the recipe is solely mine. When re-posting, please cite me and my website.

Copyright november 2015 ©

Pecan Pie

q


Sweet and nutty pecan pie–a family favorite

>>> Yields 1 9.5 inch pie

Time:
-Prep: 15 min
-Bake: 50 min

 

 

Ingredients:

  • 1 9.5 inch pie crust, unbaked (see recipe)
  • 1/3 C brown sugar (can use granulated sugar)
  • 3/4 C light (or dark) corn syrup
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 3 eggs, beaten
  • 1 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 6 tbsp unsalted butter, melted
  • 2 C pecans, toasted, 1/2 C chopped, 1 1/2 C whole for top
  • optional: 1/3 C rolled oats

Instructions:

1) Preheat the oven to 350 F.
2) Whisk sugar, corn syrup, vanilla, salt, and apple cider vinegar together.
3) Add in butter and eggs and mix till smooth.
4) Stir in chopped pecans and oatmeal. Pour into prepared pie crust
5) Decorate top of pecan pie with whole pecans.
6) Bake for 50-60 minutes until filling is set. Cover with foil if the crust and pecans are browning too quickly.
7) Remove from oven and let cool to room temperature. Slice and serve!

Happy eats!

u

Leave a Reply

