Chocolate Chunk Cookies

20160415_145153Who doesn’t love soft, chewy, warm chocolate chunk cookies? Well, I guess there are those that love crispy-baked ones or an old-fashioned sugar cookie. BUT for me, that delicious smell of chocolate and that soft inner of an under-baked cookie cannot possibly be beat.

20160415_145206I know there are a ton of chocolate chip cookie recipes out there. The New York Times (JT) cookie, Alton Brown’s The Chewy, the Nestle Tollhouse cookie, etc, but my main gripe with the first two is that they require bread flour–something I do not have on hand. I couldn’t justify going out and buying a large bag of the stuff just for cookies, so I opted for a recipe that used AP flour instead. However, I still wanted that soft-baked texture, so I added in cornstarch, which would slightly lighten the protein ratio of the flour and lend itself to a lighter cookie. Of course, any good CCC recipe should use brown sugar for optimal caramelization flavor and uses REAL butter, none of that shortening or margarine stuff for these babies.

20160415_145142To be honest, I have never made chocolate chunk cookies before this. Why? My family, aside from my brother, just is not interested. My mom prefers a peanut butter or macadamia nut cookie to these American classics. Therefore, when my sweet-tooth loving aunt and uncle came to town, I knew this was the perfect opportunity. For these cookies, I used a combination of three chocolates– Toblerone Milk Chocolate triangles cut into chunks, mini Kit Kat bars broken into pieces, and Trader Joe’s Milk Chocolate with Almond Pound Plus bars, also cut into chunks. These three chocolates were the trifecta– buttery smooth chocolate with a hint of textural crunch from the almond and wafers. I suggest you try this if you have some leftover chocolates that need using up.

Alright, I’m going to fess up about my rookie misstep: For my first batch, I actually committed the cardinal sin–over-baking the cookie. I know, I know, that’s the one thing everyone says not to do. But for someone who has never made these before, I was a bit shocked at how soft and under-baked they were at the 8 minute mark. BUT, even though I left them in for another 2 minutes, they still came out perfectly chewy and delicious. However, I have to say, when making ANY type of cookie, 3 rules always stand:

  1. Cream the butter and sugar: You will get a wonderfully airy, smooth butter mixture that will lend itself to a lighter, higher-risen end product.
  2. Chill the cookie dough overnight in the fridge: I know, this means you’ll need to plan in advance if you want fresh baked cookies, but it’s so worth it. The flavor of the sugar and butter once it has had time to rest is amazing. Plus, giving gluten time to relax will give you a chewier cookie.
  3. Don’t over-bake the cookie if you want a chewy, soft cookie: Just don’t. When I baked my second batch perfectly, it was the most amazing experience in the world. Take my word for it. They are safe to consume even under-baked.

Now go forth–and enjoy these amazing chocolate chunk cookies. They are so easy to make and healthier and tastier than anything you’ll get at the supermarket.

20160415_145137

Note*** This version of the recipe is solely mine. When reposting, please cite me and my website.

Copyright april 2016 ©

20160415_145156

Chocolate Chunk Cookies

20160415_145145

The classic soft chewy chocolate chunk cookie that’s easy to make and so delicious
>>> Yields 24 cookies

Time:
-Prep: 15 min
-Bake: 8 min

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 C unsalted butter, softened to room temp
  • 3/4 C brown sugar
  • 1 large egg, room temp
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 C AP flour
  • 2 tsp cornstarch
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 6 oz of roughly chopped chocolate chunks

Instructions:

1) In a stand mixer, beat the butter until smooth and then add the sugar and beat until light and fluffy. Add in the egg and vanilla to the butter.
2) In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, cornstarch, baking soda, and salt.
3) Gradually add in the dry mixture to the butter mixture until no flour streaks remain.
4) Stir in the chocolate chunks by hand so chunks stay in-tact.
5) **For best results– cover the cookie dough and let it rest overnight in the fridge for at least 2 hours and up to 36 hours.**
6) Preheat the oven to 350 F.
7) Let the dough come slightly to temperature for 30 minutes (for easier scooping) before scooping the dough into even balls onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper or a baking mat 2 inches apart.
8) Bake for 8 minutes in the oven. The cookies should be very soft to the touch and removed immediately.
9) Let the cookies cool to room temperature before storing in an air-tight container or eating.

Happy eats!

20160415_145510

Leave a Reply

