Vanilla Sponge Cake

20160624_064051
20160622_193646For my birthday this year, I decided that instead of buying a cake at a nearby Asian bakery or at Whole Foods, I wanted to make my own. I just wanted something simple and light, nothing fancy needed to celebrate the fact that I’m aging and supposed to be getting a hold of my life 😉 Well, an easy, light tasting cake immediately had me thinking sponge cake, and my mom has been hinting at how she wants to eat something matcha flavored recently, so I decided to make a Vanilla Two-Layered Sponge Cake with Green Tea Whipped Cream Frosting.

20160622_151458Now, my recipe is for Vanilla flavored, but you can easily sub a tablespoon of flour for green tea powder or cocoa powder to change things up. This recipe is actually just adapted from my previous cake roll recipe that I have made time and time again with success. You can check out my previous post for detailed tips for success when baking this cake.

For my tiered cake, I used 2 8-inch round pans that were lined with parchment paper and greased but you could also split it into 3-layers without much of a problem. In fact, I’d actually recommend it since my pans are a bit shallow and I ended up not getting enough height on my cake layers in the end. I filled and iced my naked birthday cake with a light whipped cream flavored with green tea powder and decided to be lazy and not top it with anything. I know, what kind of birthday cake is that? But for me, spending time with family and eating a simple, comforting dessert is the perfect day and it’s exactly how I spent it!

20160622_184626

20160622_184632

20160622_191009
20160624_064112

20160624_064048

20160624_064115

 

20160622_193703

Note*** This version of the recipe is solely mine. When re-posting, please cite me and my website.

Copyright august 2016 ©

Vanilla Sponge Cake

20160624_064056

Light and airy cake perfect for layered cakes or as is
>>> Yields 1 2 layered 8-inch cake

Time:
-Prep: 20 min
-Bake: 50 min

Ingredients:

  • 120 g cake flour *
  • 45 g granulated sugar
  • 3/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 4 egg yolks
  • 65 g whole milk
  • 45 g vegetable oil
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • 4 egg whites
  • 1/4 tsp tartar powder
  • 80 g granulated sugar

Instructions:

1) Line and grease the bottom of an 8-inch springform pan or two 8-inch cake pans. Leave the sides un-greased.
2) Mix the cake flour, sugar, baking powder, baking sugar, and salt together in a bowl.
3) In a separate bowl, combine the egg yolks, milk, oil, and vanilla extract.
4) Beat the egg whites and tartar powder at medium speed for 3-5 minutes until frothy. Add the sugar in 1/3 at a time until the egg whites become white and soft peaks form.
5) Combine the flour and yolks and mix until no flour streaks remain.
6) Preheat the oven to 280 F. Place a shallow, large pan filled 1/3 of the way up with water.
7) Fold the egg whites into the yolk mix 1/3 at a time lightly with a spatula and the mixture is even.
8) Pour the cake mixture into the prepared pan(s). Bang the pan lightly onto the counter to release any bubbles in the batter.
9) Place the pan into the water bath and bake for 50-60 minutes in the middle rack.
10) When the cake is cooked and the toothpick comes out clean, turn the oven off and leave the oven open a crack to allow steam to escape.
11) After 5 minutes, remove the cake from the oven and let cool for another 5 minutes in the pan.
12) Using a knife, loosen the edges of the cake from the pan and let the cake cool completely on a cooling rack.
13) Slice and serve with whipped cream and fresh fruits.

Note *: For a flavored cake, replace 20 g of cake flour with powdered flavor (cocoa, green tea, instant coffee powder)

Happy eats!

20160624_063953

 

Leave a Reply

