Cinnamon Crumb Pizza

20160716_114859When I was young, we used to live near a Cici’s Pizza, which my family would frequent thanks to its cheap cost and relatively satisfying food choices (all-you-can-eat pizza, pasta, soup, salads, dessert and breadsticks? Count me in!) To be honest, there are just a few items from there that really stood out to me and would be what I would constantly go back and get seconds or thirds of. Their deep-dish barbecue pizza (which was order only), their soft garlic-y breadsticks, and their desserts.

20160716_123410Oh, their desserts. I have a huge sweet tooth, so I would always save room for their sinfully rich chocolate brownies dusted with powdered sugar, their ooey-gooey cinnamon rolls topped with a sweet icing, and a family-favorite apple cinnamon crumb pizza. Looking back now, I realize how sugar-heavy all those desserts were and probably wouldn’t even dream of eating them for fear of developing diabetes on the spot, but those memories are near and dear to my heart and the inspiration behind this recipe.

My brother recently came home to visit and when I asked him if there were any specific foods he’d like me to make, he immediately replied with “Pizza!”. So naturally, I went with my trusty pizza dough recipe and whipped up a barbecue chicken one that my family loves. This time, however, I decided to make some extra dough and make a sweet pizza. Why? Just for the sake of variety and because my family has a secret sweet tooth that always needs addressing ๐Ÿ˜‰

20160716_122146

Normally, my mom dislikes all things cinnamon (I know… the horrors), but she loves the cinnamon apple pizza from Cici’s, so I decided to re-create a lazier version of it by forgoing the apples and just make a sweet cinnamon streusel. The end result of my hodge podge creation was a fan-favorite. The sweet, cinnamon brown sugar spread paired perfectly with the crispy, buttery crumb topping without being sickeningly sweet or overwhelming in taste. My entire family gobbled down both pizzas and declared that the dessert pie was the absolutely perfect new addition to the pizza tradition. Next time, I’ll definitely be making another one of these delicious pizzas and you should too!

Note***ย This version of the recipe is solely mine. When re-posting, please cite me and my website.

Copyright novemberย 2016 ยฉ

Cinnamon Crumb Pizza

20160716_121609

Sweet dessert pizza with a buttery topping laced with cinnamon and spice
>>> Yieldsย 1 9-inch round pizza

Time:
-Prep: 10 min
-Bake: 20 min

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 recipe for pizza dough
  • 3/4 C AP flour
  • 3/4 C rolled or quick cooking oats
  • 1/3 C packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 C white sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 6 tbsp unsalted butter, cut into cubes
  • 1 tbsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp each of ground ginger, allspice, and nutmeg
  • optional: 1/2 C powdered sugar + 1 tbsp milk for icing

Instructions:

1) Preheat the oven to 350 F.
2) Mix all the ingredients except the butter together in a bowl.
3) Add the cubed butter and mix with hands until crumbs form.
4) Sprinkle over prepared and rolled out pizza dough.
5) Bake for 20-25 minutes until brown and crust is cooked. For a crisper crust, bake longer.
6) Remove from oven and let cool for 3-5 minutes before serving. If desired, drizzle icing over the top of the pizza.

Happy eats!

20160716_121606

Leave a Reply

